[digital.global] im Dialog

Das [digital.global] Netzwerk vereint weit über 100 Akteure aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Wissenschaft in Deutschland, unseren Partnerländern sowie unserem multilateralen Partnersystem.

Als Plattform für alle Akteure, die eine sozial-ökologischen und feministische digitale Transformation vorantreiben, lebt das Netzwerk von seinen starken Partnerschaften und dem kontinuierlichen Austausch. Sein Ziel ist es, die Innovationskraft der Digitalwirtschaft für entwicklungspolitische Ziele zu nutzen und sich dabei an den Bedarfen der Partnerländer zu orientieren. Um die technische und finanzielle Zusammenarbeit an die sich laufend verändernden Herausforderungen der fortschreitenden digitalen Transformation aller Lebensbereiche anzupassen ist das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) im ständigen Dialog mit seinen Initiativen und Partnern.

SDG Digital Futures

SDG Digital – launched in 2023 – will be back this year…

Online discussion round: how AI is shaping online work

  Artificial intelligence or machine learning requires extensive “training data” that helps…

Democratizing Gender Data for Better Policymaking – Official HLPF Side Event

Democracy Forum – Alliance for Integrity

The digitally transformed global economy – an engine…

Launch of the GovStack e-Learning Hub at WSIS

The official launch…

AI for Good Global Summit 2024

The AI for Good Global Summit highlighted the potential of Artificial…

“Data Against Disasters: How Big Data and AI can protect us from future health crises” at re:publica

UNICEF ‘Digital (Re:) Public Goods: Putting the Next Generation in Charge’ at re:publica 2024

World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) 2024

The World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) Forum in Geneva…

Global Solutions Summit

The Global Solutions Summit (GSS) is an international conference aimed at…

International Women and Girls in ICT Day

The International Women and Girls in ICT Day draws attention to the…

Connected Africa Summit

A step into the Future with the Connected Africa Summit 2024!…


  • Digital Ethics Working Group of Initiative D21

    As a cross-sector network that brings together players from politics, business, science and civil society, Initiative D21 aims to promote the potential of digitization and digital participation in Germany. At the last meeting of the working group Martin Wimmer, CDO BMZ, gave a keynote speach.

  • Virtual event
    11:00 - 12:00 CEST

    bitkom & [digital.global]: Closing the Global Digital Divide

    Accompanying the Global South on its path to access to powerful Internet and the skills to use digital technologies safely is not just a question of equity: Better connectivity and the teaching of digital skills create great potential for growth and development. This is precisely what European companies, associations and the German government are already working on hand in hand – in numerous projects around the world. We talked about this at our online panel on “Global Digital Divides,” which we organized together with bitkom to mark the German Digital Day.

    Speakers:

    • Caroline King, Global Head of Business Development SAP
    • Karolin Erdmann, Head of the Make-IT Alliance
    • Asma Bannouri, Deployment Manager, Orange Digital Center
    • Martin Wimmer, Chief Digital Officer, German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)
  • Arena Berlin, Berlin

    The BMZ at re:publica 2023

    re:publica 23 – 05. - 07. Juni 2023 — Session: Beating the gender bias in AI! /// Speaker: Linda Bonyo, Kathleen Ziemann, Katharina Klappheck — The re:publica took place from 05 to 07 June 2023 in the Arena Berlin and the Festsaal Kreuzberg. This year, the festival for the digital society was themed "CASH". Berlin, June 07, 2023 Photo: Jan Zappner/re:publica © copyright
    re:publica 23 – 05. - 07. Juni 2023 — Session: Women’s needs are unique. Their financial solutions should be too! /// Speaker: Mary Ellen Iskenderian — The re:publica took place from 05 to 07 June 2023 in the Arena Berlin and the Festsaal Kreuzberg. This year, the festival for the digital society was themed "CASH". Berlin, June 07, 2023 Photo: Jan Zappner/re:publica © copyright
    re:publica 23 – 05. - 07. Juni 2023 — Session: Women’s needs are unique. Their financial solutions should be too! /// Speaker: Mary Ellen Iskenderian — The re:publica took place from 05 to 07 June 2023 in the Arena Berlin and the Festsaal Kreuzberg. This year, the festival for the digital society was themed "CASH". Berlin, June 07, 2023 Photo: Jan Zappner/re:publica © copyright
    re:publica 23 – 05. - 07. Juni 2023 — The re:publica took place from 05 to 07 June 2023 in the Arena Berlin and the Festsaal Kreuzberg. This year, the festival for the digital society was themed "CASH". Berlin, June 07, 2023 Photo: Jan Zappner/re:publica © copyright
    re:publica 23 – 05. - 07. Juni 2023 — Session: Click, Hire, Fire? Improving the Global Reality and Future of Platform Work /// Speaker: Svenja Schulze, Mark Graham, Esther Gathigi-Kibugi, Fabian Stephany — The re:publica took place from 05 to 07 June 2023 in the Arena Berlin and the Festsaal Kreuzberg. This year, the festival for the digital society was themed "CASH". Berlin, June 07, 2023 Photo: Jan Zappner/re:publica © copyright
    re:publica 23 – 05. - 07. Juni 2023 — Session: Click, Hire, Fire? Improving the Global Reality and Future of Platform Work /// Speaker: Svenja Schulze, Mark Graham, Esther Gathigi-Kibugi, Fabian Stephany — The re:publica took place from 05 to 07 June 2023 in the Arena Berlin and the Festsaal Kreuzberg. This year, the festival for the digital society was themed "CASH". Berlin, June 07, 2023 Photo: Jan Zappner/re:publica © copyright
    re:publica 23 – 05. - 07. Juni 2023 — Session: Click, Hire, Fire? Improving the Global Reality and Future of Platform Work /// Speaker: Svenja Schulze, Mark Graham, Esther Gathigi-Kibugi, Fabian Stephany — The re:publica took place from 05 to 07 June 2023 in the Arena Berlin and the Festsaal Kreuzberg. This year, the festival for the digital society was themed "CASH". Berlin, June 07, 2023 Photo: Jan Zappner/re:publica © copyright
    re:publica 23 – 05. - 07. Juni 2023 — Session: Click, Hire, Fire? Improving the Global Reality and Future of Platform Work /// Speaker: Svenja Schulze, Mark Graham, Esther Gathigi-Kibugi, Fabian Stephany — The re:publica took place from 05 to 07 June 2023 in the Arena Berlin and the Festsaal Kreuzberg. This year, the festival for the digital society was themed "CASH". Berlin, June 07, 2023 Photo: Jan Zappner/re:publica © copyright
    re:publica 23 – 05. - 07. Juni 2023 — Session: Women’s needs are unique. Their financial solutions should be too! /// Speaker: Mary Ellen Iskenderian — The re:publica took place from 05 to 07 June 2023 in the Arena Berlin and the Festsaal Kreuzberg. This year, the festival for the digital society was themed "CASH". Berlin, June 07, 2023 Photo: Jan Zappner/re:publica © copyright
    re:publica 23 – 05. - 07. Juni 2023 — CASH für die Twin Transition – wie wird Digitalisierung grüner und Klimaschutz digitaler? Georg von Richthofen, Martin Wimmer — The re:publica took place from 05 to 07 June 2023 in the Arena Berlin and the Festsaal Kreuzberg. This year, the festival for the digital society was themed "CASH". Berlin, June 07, 2023 Photo: Jan Zappner/re:publica © copyright

    At this year’s re:publica, the largest festival for the digital society, one topic took center stage: CASH. Under this motto, representatives from science, politics, companies, NGOs and the media, as well as bloggers, activists, artists and social media experts, exchanged ideas on topics of digital transformation.

    The contributions of over 1100 speakers* on 18 stages showed that the digital transformation is not only a technical, but also a social and global topic.

    In several panels and discussion groups, the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and its partners from the [digital.global] network presented innovative approaches and projects for digital solutions in partner countries. The focus was on platform work, artificial intelligence, climate protection, feminist development policy, health and international digital policy.

  • Virtual event
    15:00 - 16:30 CEST

    Blockchain & Women’s Financial Inclusion

    The topic of the webinar was the financial inclusion of women. What added value can blockchain and digitalization offer here? Peer-to-peer lending, microcredit for women’s savings groups, or community inclusion currencies – blockchain offers a range of use cases to reach people who have been largely excluded from the formal financial system. But can these technological solutions also help change gender norms and strengthen women’s financial inclusion and economic participation?

    We discussed theese questions with partners from CGAP, WFP Innovation Accelerator and GIZ Cameroon, who presented projects from development cooperation and humanitarian aid.

     

     

    More information

  • Virtual Event

    Roundtable: Towards a feminist digital development cooperation

    Towards a feminist digital development cooperation, the betterplace lab organized the online roundtable “Towards a feminist digital development cooperation” as part of a trend study on feminist digital development cooperation.

  • Mexico City, Mexico

    Women in Tech, Twin Transition, and an Alliance for MSMEs: some of the themes presented during the Regional Forum for Digital Transformation in Mexico

    The Forum organized by the BMZ Digital Transformation Center Mexico in close collaboration with the Ministry of Economy of Mexico, brought together a diversity of national and international stakeholders.

    The Regional Forum for Digital Transformation was a hybrid space for dialogue and networking to exchange experiences on Digital Transformation, Digital Policy, Data and Public Policy, Digital Economy, Climate Action and Sustainable Development. During the three days of the Forum, almost 5,000 virtual attendees participated from 18 different countries such as Germany, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru; and nearly 700 people attended in person. There were 58 sessions, including expert panels, keynote speakers, multi-stakeholder dialogues, and five workshops. The Forum, held in the Ministry of Economy in Mexico City, featured the participation of 120 speakers from 40 different public, private, and social sector institutions.

    Image 1/3
    Image 2/3
    Image 3/3
  • Sovereign Cloud Stack Summit

    Organized by the Open Source Business Alliance (OSB Alliance), the Sovereign Cloud Stack Summit aimed to promote exchange on open source technologies, especially in the cloud space. The focus was on digital sovereignty and European core values in the digital space, which were significantly advanced by SPRIN-D. For the panel discussions and speeches, the broad ecosystem of open source stakeholders from politics, the private sector, academia and civil society was included. The BMZ highlighted the international perspective on digital sovereignty and open source through the policy initiative GovStack and the [digital.global] Network.

  • Global Solutions Summit

    The Global Solutions Summit is the world’s leading forum for translating research-based evidence into policy recommendations for the G7/G20. Its goal is better global governance for the common good. The meeting brought together high-level government officials with academic researchers, NGO leaders and international CEOs. The BMZ participated in several sessions of the Global Solutions Summit, including the Advisory Board meeting and the High-Level Forum on Climate and Digital Architecture for the Public Good sessions.

  • BMZ, Berlin

    Visit of the Egyptian Minister of Digital at the BMZ

    With the aim of exploring strategic priorities for digital cooperation between Germany and Egypt, a strategic dialogue took place between the BMZ and Khaled El-Attar, Deputy Minister of Digital Transformation, Automation and Administrative Development.

  • Stuttgart

    Blockchain Breakfast Baden-Württemberg with KfW

    Together with KfW, BMZ participated in the Blockchain Breakfast and presented the TruBudget tool with Piet Kleffmann, Department Director of KfW Development Bank.

  • BMZ, Berlin

    Strategic Dialogue UNDP in the BMZ

    The United Nations Development Programm (UNDP) is a long-standing partner of German development cooperation, while UNDP and BMZ share a longtime cooperation in the digital sector. The aim of the exchange in May was to highlight synergies in the field of innovation and digitalization. The United Nations Development Programme, represented by Robert Opp, Chief Digital Officer and Gina Lucarelli, Team Leader Accelerator Labs, met with the following representatives of the BMZ: Dirk Meyer, Head of Division Global Health, Economy, Trade and Rural Development; Martin Wimmer, CDO; Noemie Bürkl, Head of the Digitalization Unit.

  • Washington, USA

    World Bank GovTech Global Forum in Washington

    The event was organized by the World Bank’s Governance Global Practice and was entitled “Governance in the Digital Era.” BMZ participated in the forum as a co-host through a logo partnership. A recorded video message from Dirk Meyer, Department Head, Global Health, Economy, Trade and Rural Development was broadcasted during the first plenary, which addressed the guiding question of how GovTech implementation can contribute to economic and social development.

  • Victoria Falls, Simbabwe

    Transform Africa Summit (TAS2023)

    The Transform Africa Summit (TAS2023) took place for the sixth time this year. The venue was the Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe. Government representatives, companies and organizations from over 100 countries met under the motto “Connect, Innovate, Transform”. The aim of the summit was to accelerate the digital transformation of the participating African countries. This is to pave the way toward competitive, agile, open and innovative smart societies.

    Our policy initiatives were represented at TAS2023 with the following workshops:

    • Digital for Development (D4D) Hub: ”Global Gateway: Building trusted connectivity between Africa and Europe”
    • SADA & Gig Economy: ”Better policymaking for fair, safe, inclusive and sustainable digital transformation – The case of platform work”
    • Data Economy: ”Building an Enabling Environment for Data-Driven Value Creation”
    • GovStack: ”Digital Leaders Forum on Digital Public Infrastructure and Secure Data Flow”
    • #SmartDevelopmentFund: ”Female Empowerment – the compass of the Twin Transition”
    • FAIR Forward: ”Leveraging AI to adress climate change challenges in Africa”
    • SADA: ”Network of Women Digital Ministers for inclusive digital policy and digital gender equality”
  • Hangzhou, China

    UN World Data Forum 2023: Innovative ways to utilise data for policy makers

    The UN World Data Forum aims to drive innovation in the use of data, foster partnerships, mobilise high-level political and financial support for data, and develop a sustainable approach to data use.

    Against this backdrop, the United Nations Development Programme, in collaboration with GIZ’s political initiative Data4Policy, has developed a Data-to-Policy Navigator for policymakers to use new data sources to support policy and decision-making processes.

    The navigator focuses on the needs of policymakers to shape more inclusive, effective and sustainable policies and empower them digital public infrastructure (DPI). The beta version of the Navigatorwas launched at the fourth UN World Data Forum, which wich took place in Hangzhou, China, in April 2023.

    More about the event

  • hybrid, Berlin

    bitkom Digital Sustainability Summit: Conference for the digital and green twin transition 

    Climate change affects us all. How can we use innovative digital solutions to combat climate change? And how can we connect the global South and North to jointly develop innovative solutions for climate goals?

    These questions were addressed by Svenja Schulze, Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development, at the bitkom Digital Sustainability Summit. Through the newly created [digital.global] network, new paths and partnerships can emerge with the aim of developing digital solutions to one of the most pressing questions of our time: how do we shape a climate-just future in the global South and North?

    In addition, Noémie Bürkl, Head of Digitalization at the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), discussed digital solutions to the climate crisis directly with companies from the MAKE-IT Alliance, bitkom, and local businesses in a side event.

    More information


    About the side event
    by [digital.global]

    Roundtable: “Green Tech for Climate Action: advancing digital green solutions between North and South

    Collaboration with the private sector is essential to solving the global challenges of our time. This is especially true for climate change: on the one hand, our economic activities contribute to greenhouse gas emissions, pollution and biodiversity loss. On the other hand, innovative ideas and digital solutions can help conserve resources and build a sustainable digital and green society and economy.

    In particular, innovative SMEs and startups offer digital green tech solutions to decarbonize supply chains and shape the transformation to a more sustainable economy and society. A dialogue between the private and public sectors, and between companies from the global South and North, can help promote green and sustainable technologies and approaches worldwide.

    In the panel discussion, initiators and participants discussed the limits of their supply chain management and compensation mechanisms. The focus here was on innovative digital solutions. On the other hand, green tech solutions from climate adaptation were presented, which could be used especially in the global south. How can such solutions be scaled to maximize impact?

    The following speakers discussed at the round table for interested companies:

    • Noémie Bürkl, Head of the Digitalisation Department of Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)
    • Lara Obst, Co-Founder & Climate Officer of THE CLIMATE CHOICE
    • Marco Christ, Managing Director of DEG Impulse gGmbH
    • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Rams, Co-Founder & CFO of Africa GreenTec
    • Werner Neubauer, CEO of albis-elcon
    • Robert Heinecke, Founder & CEO of Breeze Technologies

    In addition, selected international startups gave us an insight into their work, including IoTeamVN, winner of the Green Tech Incubator Vietnam.

    Host: Stella Deppe, BMZ digilab

    More information

[digital.global] im Dialog

Das [digital.global] Netzwerk vereint weit über 100 Akteure aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Wissenschaft in Deutschland, unseren Partnerländern sowie unserem multilateralen Partnersystem.

Als Plattform für alle Akteure, die eine sozial-ökologischen und feministische digitale Transformation vorantreiben, lebt das Netzwerk von seinen starken Partnerschaften und dem kontinuierlichen Austausch. Sein Ziel ist es, die Innovationskraft der Digitalwirtschaft für entwicklungspolitische Ziele zu nutzen und sich dabei an den Bedarfen der Partnerländer zu orientieren. Um die technische und finanzielle Zusammenarbeit an die sich laufend verändernden Herausforderungen der fortschreitenden digitalen Transformation aller Lebensbereiche anzupassen ist das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) im ständigen Dialog mit seinen Initiativen und Partnern.

SDG Digital Futures

SDG Digital geht nach dem Launch 2023 in die zweite Runde: Unter…

Online Diksussionsrunde: Wie KI die Online-Arbeit verändert

  Künstliche Intelligenz oder Maschinenlernen erfordert umfangreiche Trainingsdaten, die KI-Modellen helfen, Verbindungen…

Gender-Daten für eine bessere Politikgestaltung demokratisieren – Offizielle HLPF-Nebenveranstaltung

Demokratieforum- Allianz für Integrität

Die digital transformierte Globalwirtschaft – ein Motor für Demokratie!? Welche Verantwortung tragen…

Launch des GovStack E-Learning Hubs beim WSIS

Der offizielle Start…

AI for Good Global Summit 2024

Der AI for Good Global Summit stellte die Potenziale…

„Data Against Disasters: How Big Data and AI can protect us from future health crises“ auf der re:publica 2024

UNICEF „Digital (Re:) Public Goods: Putting the Next Generation in Charge“ auf der re:publica 2024

World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) 2024

Das World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) Forum…

Global Solutions Summit

Der Global Solutions Summit (GSS) ist eine internationale Konferenz, die sich…

Internationaler Tag der Frauen und Mädchen in der IKT

Der Internationale Tag der Frauen und Mädchen in der IKT soll auf…

Connected Africa Summit

Mit dem Connected Africa Summit 2024 auf dem Weg in eine…


  • Arbeitsgruppe Digitale Ethik der Initiative D21

    Als branchenübergreifendes Netzwerk, das Akteur*innen aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft versammelt, will die Initiative D21 die Potenziale der Digitalisierung sowie die digitale Teilhabe in Deutschland fördern. Martin Wimmer, CDO BMZ, hielt beim letzten Treffen der Arbeitsgruppe eine Keynote.

  • Virtuelles Event
    11:00 Uhr - 12:00 Uhr CEST

    bitkom & [digital.global]: Closing the Global Digital Divide

    Den Globalen Süden auf seinem Weg zum Zugang zu leistungsfähigem Internet und zu den Fähigkeiten, digitale Technologien sicher zu nutzen, zu begleiten, ist nicht nur eine Frage der Gerechtigkeit: Bessere Konnektivität und die Vermittlung digitaler Kompetenzen schaffen großes Potenzial für Wachstum und Entwicklung. Genau daran arbeiten europäische Unternehmen, Verbände und die Bundesregierung bereits Hand in Hand – in zahlreichen Projekten rund um die Welt. Darüber haben wir bei unserem Online-Panel zum Thema „Global Digital Divides“, das wir gemeinsam mit bitkom anlässlich des Deutschen Digitaltages veranstaltet haben, gesprochen.

    Redner*innen:

    • Caroline King, Globale Leiterin Geschäftsentwicklung SAP
    • Karolin Erdmann, Leiterin der Make-IT Alliance
    • Asma Bannouri, Deployment Manager, Orange Digital Center
    • Martin Wimmer, Chief Digital Officer des deutschen Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)
  • Arena Berlin, Berlin

    Das BMZ auf der re:publica 2023

    Jan Zappner/re:publica
    Jan Michalko/re:publica © copyright
    Jan Zappner/re:publica © copyright
    Jan Michalko/re:publica © copyright
    Jan Zappner/re:publica © copyright

    Auf der diesjährigen re:publica, dem größten Festival für die digitale Gesellschaft, stand ein Thema im Mittelpunkt: CASH. Unter diesem Motto tauschten sich Vertreter*innen aus Wissenschaft, Politik, Unternehmen, NGOs und Medien sowie Blogger*innen, Aktivist*innen, Künstler*innen und Social-Media-Expert*innen zu Themen der digitalen Transformation aus.

    Die Beiträge von über 1100 Redner*innen auf 18 Bühnen zeigten, dass die digitale Transformation nicht nur ein technisches, sondern auch ein gesellschaftliches und globales Thema ist.

    In mehreren Panels und Diskussionsrunden stellte das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) gemeinsam mit seinen Partnern aus dem Netzwerk [digital.global] innovative Ansätze und Projekte für digitale Lösungen in den Partnerländern vor. Im Fokus standen die Themen Plattformarbeit, Künstliche Intelligenz, Klimaschutz, feministische Entwicklungspolitik, Gesundheit und internationale Digitalpolitik.

  • Virtuelles Event
    15:00 Uhr - 16:30 Uhr CEST

    Blockchain & Women’s Financial Inclusion

    Thema des Webinars war die finanzielle Inklusion von Frauen. Welchen Mehrwert können Blockchain und Digitalisierung hier bieten?

    Diese Fragen haben wir mit Partner+innen von CGAP, WFP Innovation Accelerator, und GIZ Kamerun diskutiert, welche Projekte aus der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und humanitären Hilfe vorgestellt haben.

    Peer-to-peer lending, Mikrokredite für Frauen-Spargruppen oder Community Inclusion Currencies – Blockchain bietet eine Reihe von Anwendungsfällen, um Menschen zu erreichen, die bisher weitgehend vom formalen Finanzsystem ausgeschlossen sind. Doch können diese technologischen Lösungen auch dazu beitragen, Geschlechternormen zu verändern und die finanzielle Inklusion und wirtschaftliche Teilhabe von Frauen zu stärken?

    Diese Fragen diskutierten wir mit Praktiker*innen aus der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und humanitären Hilfe.

    Mehr Informationen

  • Roundtable: Towards a feminist digital development cooperation

    Auf dem Weg zu einer feministischen digitalen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit organisierte das betterplace lab den Online-Roundtable „Towards a feminist digital development cooperation“ als Teil einer Trendstudie zur feministischen digitalen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit.

  • Mexiko-Stadt, Mexiko

    Women in Tech, Twin Transition und eine Allianz für KKMU: diese und viele weitere Themen wurden auf dem Regionalforum für digitale Transformation in Mexiko vorgestellt

    Das BMZ Digitalzentrum Mexiko hat in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem mexikanischen Wirtschaftsministerium ein Regionalforum zu Digitaler Transformation organisiert. Das interdisziplinäre Forum brachte eine Vielzahl nationaler und internationaler Akteure zusammen.

    Es bot eine besondere Gelegenheit für Dialog und Erfahrungsaustausch in den Bereichen Digitale Transformation, Digitalpolitik, Daten und öffentliche Politik, Digitale Wirtschaft, Klimaschutz und nachhaltige Entwicklung. An den drei Tagen des Forums nahmen fast 5.000 virtuelle Teilnehmer*innen aus 18 verschiedenen Ländern wie Deutschland, Brasilien, Chile, Kolumbien, Ecuador und Peru teil, und fast 700 Personen waren persönlich anwesend. Es fanden 58 Vorträge statt, darunter Expertenpanels, Impulsvorträge, Multi-Stakeholder-Dialoge und fünf Workshops. An dem Forum, das im Wirtschaftsministerium in Mexiko-Stadt stattfand, nahmen 120 Redner*innen aus 40 verschiedenen öffentlichen, privaten und sozialen Einrichtungen teil.

    Bild 1/3
    Bild 2/3
    Bild 3/3
  • Sovereign Cloud Stack Summit

    Organisiert vom Open Source Business Alliance (OSB Alliance) hatte der Sovereign Cloud Stack Summit zum Ziel, den Austausch zu Open-Source-Technologien, insbesondere im Cloud-Bereich zu fördern. Im Fokus standen Digitale Souveränität und europäische Grundwerte im digitalen Raum, welche durch SPRIN-D maßgeblich vorangetrieben wurden. Für die Paneldiskussionen und Redebeiträge wurde das breite Ökosystem von Open-Source-Akteur*innen aus Politik, Privatwirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft einbezogen. Das BMZ beleuchtete die internationale Perspektive auf digitale Souveränität und Open Source anhand der politischen Initiative GovStack und des [digital.global] Netzwerks.

  • Global Solutions Summit

    Der Global Solutions Summit ist das weltweit führende Forum für die Umsetzung forschungsbasierter Erkenntnisse in politische Empfehlungen für die G7/G20. Sein Ziel ist eine bessere globale Governance für das Gemeinwohl. Das Treffen brachte hochrangige Regierungsbeamt*innen mit akademischen Forscher*innen, NGO-Führer*innen und internationalen CEOs zusammen. Das BMZ nahm an mehreren Sitzungen des Global Solutions Summit teil, wie am Treffen des Beirats und den Sitzungen „High-Level Forum on Climate“, sowie „Digital Architecture for the Public Good“.

  • BMZ, Berlin

    Besuch des ägyptischen Digitalministers im BMZ

    Mit dem Ziel, strategische Prioritäten für die digitale Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Ägypten auszuloten, fand ein strategischer Dialog zwischen dem BMZ und Khaled El-Attar, stellv. Minister für Digitale Transformation, Automatisierung und Verwaltungsentwicklung statt.

  • Stuttgart

    Blockchain Breakfast Baden-Württemberg mit KfW

    Gemeinsam mit der KfW nahm das BMZ am Blockchain Breakfast teil und stellte mit Piet Kleffmann, Abteilungsdirektor der KfW Entwicklungsbank das Tool TruBudget vor.

  • BMZ, Berlin

    Strategischer Dialog UNDP im BMZ

    Das United Nations Development Programm (UNDP) ist ein langjähriger Partner der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, während UNDP und BMZ eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit im Digitalbereich verbindet. Ziel des Austausches im Mai war es, Synergien Bereich Innovation und Digitalisierung hervorzuheben. Das Entwicklungsprogramm der Vereinten Nationen, vertreten durch Robert Opp, Chief Digital Officer und Gina Lucarelli, Team Leader Accelerator Labs, traf sich mit folgenden Vertreter*innen des BMZ: Dirk Meyer, Abteilungsleiter Globale Gesundheit, Wirtschaft, Handel und ländliche Entwicklung; Martin Wimmer, CDO; Noemie Bürkl, Leiterin des Referats Digitalisierung.

  • Washington, USA

    GovTech Global Forum der Weltbank

    Die Veranstaltung wurde von der Governance Global Practice der Weltbank organisiert und stand unter dem Titel „Governance in the Digital Era“. Das BMZ nahm im Rahmen einer Logopartnerschaft als Co-Gastgeber an dem Forum teil. Eine aufgezeichnete Videobotschaft von Dirk Meyer, Abteilungsleiter, Globale Gesundheit, Wirtschaft, Handel und ländliche Entwicklung, wurde während der ersten Plenarsitzung ausgestrahlt, die sich mit der Leitfrage befasste, wie die Umsetzung von GovTech zur wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Entwicklung beitragen kann.

  • Victoria Falls, Simbabwe

    Transform Africa Summit (TAS2023)

    Der Transform Africa Summit (TAS2023) hat in diesem Jahr zum sechsten Mal stattgefunden. Schauplatz waren die Victoria Falls in Simbabwe. Regierungsvertreter*innen, Unternehmen und Organisationen aus über 100 Ländern trafen sich unter dem Motto „Connect, Innovate, Transform“. Ziel des Gipfels war es, die teilnehmenden afrikanischen Staaten in ihrer digitalen Transformation zu beschleunigen. So soll der Weg hin zu wettbewerbsfähigen, agilen, offenen und innovationsfähigen Smart Societies bereitet werden.

    Unsere politischen Initiativen waren mit folgenden Workshops auf dem TAS2023 vertreten:

    • Digital for Development (D4D) Hub: „Global Gateway: Building trusted connectivity between Africa and Europe”
    • SADA & Gig Economy: „Better policymaking for fair, safe, inclusive and sustainable digital transformation – The case of platform work”
    • Data Economy: „Building an Enabling Environment for Data-Driven Value Creation“
    • GovStack: „Digital Leaders Forum on Digital Public Infrastructure and Secure Data Flow”
    • #SmartDevelopmentFund: „Female Empowerment – the compass of the Twin Transition”
    • FAIR Forward: „Leveraging AI to adress climate change challenges in Africa“
    • SADA: „Network of Women Digital Ministers for inclusive digital policy and digital gender equality”
  • Hangzhou, China

    UN World Data Forum 2023: Innovative Wege zur Nutzung von Daten für politische Entscheidungsträger

    Das UN World Data Forum zielt darauf ab, die Innovation im Umgang mit Daten voranzutreiben, Partnerschaften zu fördern, die hochrangige politische und finanzielle Unterstützung für Daten zu mobilisieren und einen nachhaltigen Ansatz für den Einsatz von Daten zu entwickeln.

    Vor diesem Hintergrund hat das Entwicklungsprogramm der Vereinten Nationen in Zusammenarbeit mit der politischen Initiative Data4Policy der GIZ einen Data-to-Policy-Navigator für politische Entscheidungsträger*innen entwickelt, um neue Datenquellen zur Unterstützung der Politik und der Entscheidungsprozesse zu nutzen.

    Der Navigator konzentriert sich auf die Bedürfnisse von politischen Entscheidungsträgern, um inklusivere, effektivere und nachhaltigere Politik zu gestalten und die digitale öffentliche Infrastruktur (DPI) zu stärken. Die Beta-Version des Navigators wurde auf dem vierten UN World Data Forum vorgestellt, das im April 2023 in Hangzhou, China, stattfand.

    Mehr zum Event

  • hybrid, Berlin

    bitkom Digital Sustainability Summit: Konferenz für die grüne und digitale Zwillingstransformation

    Der Klimawandel betrifft uns alle. Wie können wir innovative digitale Lösungen dafür nutzen, den Klimawandel zu bekämpfen? Und wie können wir den globalen Süden und Norden verbinden, um gemeinsam innovative Lösungen für Klimaziele zu entwickeln?  

    Diese Fragen hat Svenja Schulze, Bundesministerin für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung, beim bitkom Digital Sustainability Summit adressiert. Über das neu geschaffene [digital.global]-Netzwerk können neue Wege und Partnerschaften entstehen, mit dem Ziel digitale Lösungen für eine der dringlichsten Fragen unserer Zeit zu entwickeln: wie gestalten wir eine klimagerechte Zukunft im globalen Süden und Norden? 

    Außerdem hat Noémie Bürkl, Referatsleiterin Digitalisierung im Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ), direkt mit Unternehmen aus der MAKE-IT Alliance, von bitkom sowie den Unternehmen vor Ort in einem Side Event zu digitalen Lösungen für die Klimakrise diskutiert.

    Mehr Informationen

     

    Über das Side Event von [digital.global]

    Runder Tisch: „Green Tech for Climate Action: Digitale grüne Lösungen zwischen Nord und Süd voranbringen“ 

    Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Privatsektor ist unerlässlich, um die globalen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit zu lösen. Dies gilt insbesondere für den Klimawandel: Zum einen tragen unsere wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten zu Treibhausgasemissionen, Umweltverschmutzung und Biodiversitätsverlust bei. Auf der anderen Seite können innovative Ideen und digitale Lösungen dabei helfen, Ressourcen zu schonen und eine nachhaltige digitale und grüne Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft aufzubauen.  

    Insbesondere innovative KMU und Start-ups bieten digitale Green Tech-Lösungen, um Lieferketten zu dekarbonisieren und die Transformation zu einer nachhaltigeren Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft zu gestalten. Ein Dialog zwischen dem privaten und öffentlichen Sektor sowie zwischen Unternehmen aus dem globalen Süden und dem Norden kann dazu beitragen, grüne und nachhaltige Technologien und Ansätze weltweit zu fördern.  

    In der Diskussionsrunde haben Impulsgeber*innen und Teilnehmer*innen zu zum einen zu den Grenzen ihrer Lieferkettensteuerung und Kompensationsmechanismen diskutiert. Innovative digitale Lösungen standen hier im Vordergrund . Zum anderen wurden Green Tech-Lösungen aus der Klimaanpassung vorgestellt, die vor allem im globalen Süden zum Einsatz kommen könnten. Wie können solche Lösungen skaliert werden, um eine möglichst große Wirkung zu erzielen?  

     

    Beim Runden Tisch für interessierte Unternehmen diskutierten die folgende Speaker*innen:

    • Noémie Bürkl, Referatsleiterin Digitalisierung im Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)
    • Lara Obst, Co-Founder & Climate Officer von THE CLIMATE CHOICE
    • Marco Christ, Geschäftsführer, DEG Impulse gGmbH
    • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Rams, Vorstand, Africa GreenTec
    • Werner Neubauer, CEO von albis-elcon
    • Robert Heinecke, Founder & CEO von Breeze Technologies

    Zudem haben uns ausgewählte, internationale Start-ups einen Einblick in ihre Arbeit gegeben,  darunter IoTeamVN, Gewinner des Green Tech Incubators Vietnam.

    Moderation: Stella Deppe, BMZ digilab

     

    mehr Informationen