[digital.global] im Dialog

Das [digital.global] Netzwerk vereint weit über 100 Akteure aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Wissenschaft in Deutschland, unseren Partnerländern sowie unserem multilateralen Partnersystem.

Als Plattform für alle Akteure, die eine sozial-ökologischen und feministische digitale Transformation vorantreiben, lebt das Netzwerk von seinen starken Partnerschaften und dem kontinuierlichen Austausch. Sein Ziel ist es, die Innovationskraft der Digitalwirtschaft für entwicklungspolitische Ziele zu nutzen und sich dabei an den Bedarfen der Partnerländer zu orientieren. Um die technische und finanzielle Zusammenarbeit an die sich laufend verändernden Herausforderungen der fortschreitenden digitalen Transformation aller Lebensbereiche anzupassen ist das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) im ständigen Dialog mit seinen Initiativen und Partnern.

SDG Digital Futures

SDG Digital – launched in 2023 – will be back this year…

Online discussion round: how AI is shaping online work

  Artificial intelligence or machine learning requires extensive “training data” that helps…

Democratizing Gender Data for Better Policymaking – Official HLPF Side Event

Democracy Forum – Alliance for Integrity

The digitally transformed global economy – an engine…

Launch of the GovStack e-Learning Hub at WSIS

The official launch…

AI for Good Global Summit 2024

The AI for Good Global Summit highlighted the potential of Artificial…

“Data Against Disasters: How Big Data and AI can protect us from future health crises” at re:publica

UNICEF ‘Digital (Re:) Public Goods: Putting the Next Generation in Charge’ at re:publica 2024

World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) 2024

The World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) Forum in Geneva…

Global Solutions Summit

The Global Solutions Summit (GSS) is an international conference aimed at…

International Women and Girls in ICT Day

The International Women and Girls in ICT Day draws attention to the…

Connected Africa Summit

A step into the Future with the Connected Africa Summit 2024!…


  • Berlin

    Keynote by Federal Minister Svenja Schulze at the Bitkom Digital Sustainability Summit

    In April, the German Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development participated in bitkom e.V.‘s Digital Sustainability Summit. In her speech, she emphasized the crucial factor of digitization for achieving the SDGs and the importance of framework conditions for the digital transformation of partner countries in the Global South.

  • Berlin

    Handelsblatt GovTech Summit

    As part of the GovTech Summit Nele Leosk, Estonian ambassador for digital affairs, and Yolanda Martinez, global head of the GovStack policy initiative and the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), joined BMZ to discuss digitization in development cooperation.

  • Berlin

    Side event: GovStack – a lighthouse project of the digital strategy

    The GovStack side event, hosted as part of the Handelsblatt GovTech Summit, aimed to present GovStack as a lighthouse project of Germany’s digital strategy and to connect the international GovStack ecosystem with the German GovTech community, including policy makers, GovTech companies and startups, as well as networks, think tanks and civil society.

  • Virtual event
    04:00 - 07:30 CEST

    BMZ digilab’s Inclusive Innovation 2030: Co-creating sustainable open access to earth observation data

    In a collaborative process, this Inclusive Innovation (ii2030) Challenge worked on a sustainable model to ensure open access to high-quality Earth observation data that can be used for machine learning, for example.

    In this last co-creation seminar, we elaborated a revenue model for data platforms of organizations such as Radiant Earth Foundation that offer open Earth observation data. The goal was to increase the general availability of such data in the Global South. Earth observation data can play an important role in achieving the Sustainable Development Goals, such as improving food security or disaster relief.

    In this online seminar, we focused on how data sourcing can be used as a lever to generate valuable data for third parties. We see this as an opportunity to make more Earth observation data available beyond traditional project and donor logics.

    Rather than creating more technical solutions, the ii2030 process focuses on strategic collaboration among stakeholders to work together to create effective change.

    This ii2030 challenge was initiated by BMZ digilab, an initiative of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), together with FAIR Forward and the Radiant Earth Foundation and is implemented by endeva, a systems innovation agency.

    More about the event

  • Geneve, Switzerland

    World Summit on the Information Society

    The annual World Summit on the Information Society Forum is a global multi-stakeholder platform that supports the implementation of the WSIS action lines to promote sustainable development. It is organized by ITU, UNESCO, UNDP and UNCTAD in close cooperation with all co-organizers of the WSIS Action Lines and other UN agencies. The Summit provides an opportunity to exchange information, create knowledge and share best practices, identify emerging trends, and foster partnerships.

  • New York, USA

    67. Session of the Commission on the Status of Women

    Representatives of member states and UN entities met for the 67th session of the UN Commission on the Status of Women (FRC) from March 6 to 17, 2023.
    The main topics this year were innovation and technological change, and education in the digital age. The goal was to achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls.

    More information

  • GSMA Mobile World Congress Barcelona

    GSMA #MWC23 – Meet us!

    Again this year, GSMA is hosted its flagship event GSMA Mobile World Congress Barcelona 2023. This is the largest and most influential event for the digital connectivity ecosystem. GSMA is a key partner in the BMZ’s Make-IT Alliance and an important collaboration partner with their Mobile for Development program.

    We were there to exchange ideas with people who share the BMZ’s mission. We want to use digitization to contribute to better livelihoods and sustainable management of the planet. Together with our partners, we close digital gaps and deliver inclusive, fair and green digital solutions to expand digital participation in our partner countries and strengthen their digital sovereignty – for a just social-ecological digital transformation worldwide.

    At #MWC23, we hosted GIZ side events to collaborate on how we can join forces:

    Sharing Data for Development
    When: 10-11 CET on Wednesday March 01
    Where: Hall 8.1 Room CC8.4

    • Data has become a key resource for economic development and its importance only continues to grow. Even though all actors in the digital ecosystem agree on this, there is still need to better understand how value from data is created and how the benefits of data can be shared. Join us in a discussion about the benefits and challenges of using data to cooperate with government on development challenges. We will explore strategies of sharing data to promote innovation, competition and productivity, as well as look into the barriers that hinder such cooperation. Discussion will build on approaches for using mobile data for women’s economic empowerment as well as data sharing and user-facing applications for informing public sector decisions.


    Opportunities for an Inclusive, Fair and Gender-Equal Digital Economy
    When: 11-12 CET on Wednesday March 01
    Where: Hall 8.1 Room CC8.4

    • This group discussion took place to discuss the current state of gender equality in the digital economy and specifically in the gig economy. We discussed the challenges and opportunities to reach groups traditionally excluded from the labor market and thus promote more inclusion and distribution of opportunities.


    Scale Your Capacity Building for Free with GIZ’s e-Learning Platform atingi!
    When: 12-13 CET on Wednesday March 01
    Where: Hall 8.1 Room CC8.4

    • On March 01, the GDPR-compliant, multilingual learning management system atingi was launched at #MWC23. All public, non-profit and private organizations can use atingi 100% free of charge to create and upload free courses for learners aged 16+ residing in the Global South. Organizations can also access and customize our rapidly growing library of more than 400 existing, openly licensed public courses – ranging from topics like agriculture to AI, digital skills, entrepreneurship, tourism and more. atingi works on desktops, tablets and smartphones and includes offline capabilities.

    Visit the partner section on atingi.org for more information.

  • Berlin
    13:00 - 18:00 CET

    Safer Internet Day

    On the occasion of Safer Internet Day 2023, the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Nuclear Safety and Consumer Protection (BMUV) and Bitkom e. V. invited to the joint conference. The event focused on the following questions : What role do data power and the use of artificial intelligence (AI) play in participation/discrimination? What changes do current regulatory proposals bring? To what extent can trustworthy AI help mitigate discrimination risks for consumers, and can the use of Corporate Digital Responsibility (CDR) help digital companies actively think about consumer interests from the outset when developing and deploying new technologies?

  • Virtual event

    RMMV Conference of KfW and BMZ

    Remote Management, Monitoring and Verification, RMMV, concepts and tools enable us to implement humanitarian and development projects under challenging conditions. During recent and current crises – pandemics, wars, and natural disasters caused by climate change, to name a few – the use of RMMV has increased dramatically. The benefits can be found in the RMMV Guidebook.

    KfW Entwicklungsbank in cooperation with BMZ organized an exchange of high-level representatives and practitioners with partners, donors, development banks, the United Nations, NGOs and technology companies on this topic.

  • Karlsruhe
    09:00 - 19:30 CET

    CDR Summit

    The Corporate Digital Responsibility Summit highlights sustainable IT solutions to save Co2 emissions. It is the leading forum in the German-speaking region that empowers companies and brands to reduce the impact of technology on climate and environment and to achieve corporate goals.

    Experts* in sustainability & IT and selected companies presented solutions at the CDR Summit on how the digital transformation of business can succeed in a climate-friendly way.

    The hybrid concept enabled participation on January 26, 2023 at the ZKM | Center for Art and Media in Karlsruhe or digitally.

    Programm

  • Berlin

    Digital Summit 2022

    Digitization is one of the German government’s priorities. The Digital Summit is the central platform for shaping the digital awakening with all those involved. The aim is to accelerate and deepen digitization and harness its potential for prosperity, freedom, social participation and sustainability.

    Last year, the focus was on the data economy. The Digital Summit 2022 took a look behind the scenes of digitization and focused on the essential resource of the digital transformation: data.

  • Station, Berlin
    14:00 - 16:30 CET

    [digital.global] Launch
    Kick-off event for the strategic realignment of BMZ’s digital policy

    In its national digital strategy, the German government has decided to present a strategy for an international digital policy for the first time.

    For Germany and the EU, the implementation of a socio-ecological-feminist transformation of global economic systems toward resilient structures, which is essential in the global competition of systems in view of the turn of the millennium, can only succeed if we continue to support our partners in the Global South in their efforts to sustainably transform themselves digitally in the fight against hunger/poverty, pandemics, climate change and discrimination against women.

    Minister Svenja Schulze therefore invited a broad network of international partners from the digital scene and ICT industry to the kick-off event for the strategic realignment of the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development’s (BMZ) digital policy.

    Around 240 selected representatives from the digital scene, ICT sector, science, civil society and politics attended the event as an audience. In addition, a large circle of all relevant BMZ networks (Make IT Alliance, GIZ Business Forum, digilab, Strategic Partnership Technology Africa SPTA, participants of the transformation forums incl. DOs, NGOs, departments, etc.) participated virtually.

    After the actual event and the launch of the network, the participants got to talk with the BMZ, the keynote speakers and the other participants about the digital reorientation of the BMZ in the context of four Open Spaces on the leadership priorities (Covid-19 pandemic and its consequences, poverty and hunger, Just Transition and feminist development policy).

    Program:

    2:00 p.m. – Launch of the new network [digital.global] with Federal Minister Svenja Schulze, presentation of first initiatives.

    5:15 p.m. – Followed by exclusive dialogue and networking event for invited participants

[digital.global] im Dialog

Das [digital.global] Netzwerk vereint weit über 100 Akteure aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Wissenschaft in Deutschland, unseren Partnerländern sowie unserem multilateralen Partnersystem.

Als Plattform für alle Akteure, die eine sozial-ökologischen und feministische digitale Transformation vorantreiben, lebt das Netzwerk von seinen starken Partnerschaften und dem kontinuierlichen Austausch. Sein Ziel ist es, die Innovationskraft der Digitalwirtschaft für entwicklungspolitische Ziele zu nutzen und sich dabei an den Bedarfen der Partnerländer zu orientieren. Um die technische und finanzielle Zusammenarbeit an die sich laufend verändernden Herausforderungen der fortschreitenden digitalen Transformation aller Lebensbereiche anzupassen ist das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) im ständigen Dialog mit seinen Initiativen und Partnern.

Demokratieforum- Allianz für Integrität

Die digital transformierte Globalwirtschaft – ein Motor für Demokratie!? Welche Verantwortung tragen…

Launch des GovStack E-Learning Hubs beim WSIS

Der offizielle Start…

AI for Good Global Summit 2024

Der AI for Good Global Summit stellte die Potenziale…

„Data Against Disasters: How Big Data and AI can protect us from future health crises“ auf der re:publica 2024

UNICEF „Digital (Re:) Public Goods: Putting the Next Generation in Charge“ auf der re:publica 2024

World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) 2024

Das World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) Forum…

Global Solutions Summit

Der Global Solutions Summit (GSS) ist eine internationale Konferenz, die sich…

Internationaler Tag der Frauen und Mädchen in der IKT

Der Internationale Tag der Frauen und Mädchen in der IKT soll auf…

Connected Africa Summit

Mit dem Connected Africa Summit 2024 auf dem Weg in eine…

Digitale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit auf der Frühjahrstagung der Weltbank

Unlocking Digital Impact – Offizieller Launch des Scaling Toolkit

bitkom Digital Sustainability Summit

Paneldiskussion „Smart Earth, Smart Tech: Ein nachhaltiger Planet im digitalen Zeitalter“ Der…

Global Digital Compact: Vorstellung des Erstentwurfs

Die Vereinten Nationen entwickeln derzeit den Global Digital Compact (GDC): Ein…


  • Barcelona, Spanien

    GSMA Mobile World Congress

    GSMA #MWC23

    Auch in diesem Jahr veranstaltete die GSMA ihr Flaggschiff-Event GSMA Mobile World Congress Barcelona 2023 als größte und einflussreichste Veranstaltung für das Ökosystem der mobilen Kommunikation. Die GSMA ist ein wichtiger Partner der Make-IT-Allianz des BMZ und ein wichtiger Kooperationspartner für das Programm „Mobile for Development“.

    Wir waren vor Ort, um uns mit Menschen auszutauschen, die die Mission des BMZ teilen. Wir wollen die Digitalisierung nutzen, zu besseren Lebensgrundlagen zum nachhaltigen Umgang mit dem Planeten beizutragen. Zusammen mit unseren Partner*innen schließen wir digitale Klüfte und liefern inklusive, faire und grüne digitale Lösungen, um die digitale Teilhabe in unseren Partnerländern zu erweitern und ihre digitale Souveränität zu stärken – für eine gerechte sozial-ökologische digitale Transformation weltweit.

    Auf der #MWC23 haben wir GIZ Side Events veranstaltet, um gemeinsam zu überlegen, wie wir unsere Kräfte bündeln können:

    Sharing Data for Development
    Wann: 10-11 CET am Mittwoch, 01. März
    Wo: Halle 8.1 Raum CC8.4

    • Daten sind zu einer Schlüsselressource für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung geworden, und ihre Bedeutung nimmt weiter zu. Obwohl sich darüber alle Akteure im digitalen Ökosystem einig sind, besteht immer noch die Notwendigkeit, besser zu verstehen, wie aus Daten Wert geschaffen wird und wie die Vorteile von Daten gemeinsam genutzt werden können. Wir diskutierten über die Vorteile und Herausforderungen der Datennutzung für die Zusammenarbeit mit der Regierung bei Entwicklungsaufgaben. Wir untersuchten Strategien zur gemeinsamen Nutzung von Daten, um Innovation, Wettbewerb und Produktivität zu fördern, und befassten uns mit den Hindernissen, die einer solchen Zusammenarbeit im Wege stehen. Die Diskussion konzentrierte sich auf Ansätze zur Nutzung mobiler Daten für die wirtschaftliche Stärkung von Frauen sowie auf die gemeinsame Nutzung von Daten und nutzerorientierten Anwendungen zur Unterstützung von Entscheidungen im öffentlichen Sektor.

    Chancen für eine integrative, faire und geschlechtergerechte digitale Wirtschaft
    Wann: 11-12 CET am Mittwoch, 01. März
    Wo: Halle 8.1 Raum CC8.4

    • Diese Gruppendiskussion fand statt, um den aktuellen Stand der Gleichstellung der Geschlechter in der digitalen Wirtschaft und speziell in der Gig-Economy zu erörtern. Wir haben die Herausforderungen und Möglichkeiten diskutiert, um Gruppen  zu erreichen, die traditionell vom Arbeitsmarkt ausgeschlossen sind, und somit mehr Inklusion und Chancenverteilung zu fördern.

    Kapazitätsaufbau mit der e-Learning-Plattform atingi
    Wann: 12-13 CET am Mittwoch, 01. März
    Wo: Halle 8.1 Raum CC8.4

    • Am 01. März wurde auf der #MWC23 das GDPR-konforme, mehrsprachige Learning Management System atingi vorgestellt. Alle öffentlichen, gemeinnützigen und privaten Organisationen können atingi 100% kostenlos nutzen, um kostenlose Kurse für Lernende ab 16 Jahren mit Wohnsitz im Globalen Süden zu erstellen und hochzuladen. Organisationen können darüber hinaus auf unsere schnell wachsende Bibliothek von mehr als 400 bestehenden, offen lizenzierten öffentlichen Kursen zugreifen und diese anpassen – diese reichen von Themen wie Landwirtschaft bis hin zu KI, digitalen Fähigkeiten, Unternehmertum, Tourismus und mehr. atingi funktioniert auf Desktops, Tablets und Smartphones und beinhaltet Offline-Funktionen.

    Besuchen Sie den Partnerbereich auf atingi.org für weitere Informationen.

  • Berlin
    13:00 Uhr - 18:00 Uhr CET

    Safer Internet Day

    Anlässlich des Safer Internet Day 2023 haben das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, nukleare Sicherheit und Verbraucherschutz (BMUV) und Bitkom e. V. zur gemeinsamen Konferenz eingeladen. Im Mittelpunkt der Veranstaltung standen folgende Fragen : Welche Rolle spielen Datenmacht und der Einsatz von Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) für Teilhabe/Diskriminierung? Welche Veränderungen bringen die aktuellen Regulierungsvorschläge mit sich? Inwieweit kann vertrauenswürdige KI dazu beitragen, Diskriminierungsrisiken für Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher zu mindern, und kann der Einsatz von Corporate Digital Responsibility (CDR) digitalen Unternehmen helfen, bei der Entwicklung und dem Einsatz neuer Technologien von Anfang an aktiv an Verbraucherinteressen zu denken?

  • Virtuelles Event

    RMMV-Konferenz von KfW und BMZ

    Mit Konzepten und Instrumenten des Remote Management, Monitoring and Verification, RMMV können wir humanitäre und Entwicklungsprojekte unter schwierigen Bedingungen durchführen. Während der jüngsten und aktuellen Krisen – Pandemien, Kriege und durch den Klimawandel verursachte Naturkatastrophen, um nur einige zu nennen – hat der Einsatz von RMMV drastisch zugenommen. Die Vorteile können im RMMV Guidebook nachgelesen werden.

    Die KfW Entwicklungsbank in Kooperation mit dem BMZ organisierte hierzu einen Austausch von hochrangigen Vertretern und Praktikern mit Partnern, Gebern, Entwicklungsbanken, den Vereinten Nationen, NRO und Technologieunternehmen.

  • Karlsruhe
    09:00 Uhr - 19:30 Uhr CET

    CDR Summit

    Der Corporate Digital Responsibility Summit zeigt nachhaltige IT-Lösungen zur Einsparung von Co2-Emmissionen auf.  Er ist das führende Forum im deutschsprachigen Raum, das Unternehmen und Marken befähigt, die Auswirkungen von Technik auf Klima und Umwelt zu verringern und Unternehmensziele zu erreichen.

    Expert*innen für Nachhaltigkeit & IT und ausgewählte Unternehmen haben beim CDR Summit Lösungen aufgezeigt, wie die digitale Transformation der Wirtschaft klimafreundlich gelingen kann.

    Das Hybridkonzept ermöglichte Teilnahme am 26. Januar 2023 im ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien in Karlsruhe oder digital.

    Programm

  • Berlin

    Digital-Gipfel 2022

    Die Digitalisierung ist einer der Schwerpunkte der Bundesregierung. Der Digital-Gipfel ist die zentrale Plattform zur Gestaltung des digitalen Aufbruchs mit allen daran Beteiligten. Ziel ist es, die Digitalisierung zu beschleunigen, zu vertiefen und ihr Potenzial für Wohlstand, Freiheit, soziale Teilhabe und Nachhaltigkeit zu nutzen.

    Im letzten Jahr stand das Thema Datenökonomie im Zentrum. Damit blickte der Digital-Gipfel 2022 hinter die Kulissen der Digitalisierung und beschäftigte sich mit der essentiellen Ressource der digitalen Transformation: Daten.

  • Station, Berlin
    14:00 Uhr - 16:30 Uhr CET

    [digital.global] Launch
    Auftaktevent zur strategischen Neuausrichtung der Digitalpolitik des BMZ

    Die Bundesregierung hat in der nationalen Digitalstrategie beschlossen, erstmals eine Strategie für eine internationale Digitalpolitik vorzulegen.

    Die für Deutschland und die EU im globalen Wettbewerb der Systeme angesichts der Zeitenwende essenzielle Durchsetzung einer sozial-ökologisch-feministischen Transformation der globalen Wirtschaftssysteme hin zu resilienten Strukturen kann nur gelingen, wenn wir unsere Partner*innen im globalen Süden weiterhin unterstützen, sich bei der Bekämpfung von Hunger/Armut, Pandemien, Klimawandel und Benachteiligung von Frauen nachhaltig digital zu transformieren.

    Ministerin Svenja Schulze hat daher ein breites Netzwerk an internationalen Partner*innen aus Digitalszene und IKT-Branche zum Auftaktevent zur strategischen Neuausrichtung der Digitalpolitik des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) eingeladen.

    Vor Ort haben  ca. 240 ausgewählte Vertreter*innen aus Digitalszene, IKT-Branche, Wissenschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Politik die Veranstaltung als Publikum begleitet. Außerdem hat ein großer Kreis aller einschlägigen Netzwerke des BMZ (Make IT-Alliance, Wirtschaftsforum der GIZ, digilab, Strategic Partnership Technology Africa SPTA, Teilnehmer*innen der Transformationsforen inkl. DOs, NGOs, Ressorts, etc.) virtuell teilgenommen.

    Nach der eigentlichen Veranstaltung und dem Launch des Netzwerks kamen die Teilnehmenden  im Rahmen von vier Open Spaces zu den Leitungsprioritäten (Covid-19 Pandemie und ihre Folgen, Armut und Hunger, Just Transition und feministische Entwicklungspolitik) mit dem BMZ, den Keynote Speaker*innen und den anderen Teilnehmenden über die digitale Neuausrichtung des BMZ ins Gespräch.

    Programm:

    14.00 Uhr – Launch des neuen Netzwerks [digital.global] mit Bundesministerin Svenja Schulze, Vorstellung erster Initiativen

    17:15 Uhr – Anschließende exklusive Dialog- und Netzwerkveranstaltung der geladenen Teilnehmenden vor Ort